Turtles All The Way Down By John Green

“The thing about a spiral is, if you follow it inward, it never actually ends. It just keeps tightening, infinitely.” 

This book just threw me for a loop or should I say in a kind of spiral. The more I traveled down into the spiral the more I realized that I did not like the main character, Aza. No, it was not because of her mental condition, it was her inherent absence of a desire to do anything about it. She never put up a strong enough dialogue against her another self. And even if I could discount that aspect of her character I’d still be pretty miffed about how ungrateful she was towards her mother. A parent, no matter how much they hover, should never be categorized as a boulder sitting on the child’s chest.

As for Daisy, the way she vented about Aza in her fan fictions, it was highly inconsiderate and hence the way they made up did not go down well with me.

With Davis so much more could have been done and yet he just felt like a tool to give the story one more layer (cause otherwise it would have been uni-dimensional). Same was the case with arc for Davis Senior.

The writing was the saving grace of this book, even though way too philosophical to have justifiably captured a seventeen year old’s voice the thoughts and the words were amazingly free flowing and beautiful.

Overall I would say out of the story, characters and writing, only the writing shined for me.

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑